The Sunday Post #59

Posted January 16, 2022 by elzaread in The Sunday Post / 28 Comments

Greetings you guys! How was your week? My Mommy’s first week of school is done and it was actually fun. She says she thinks it’s going to be a good year after all and she made the right decision to let go of her Special Needs classes. Of course they will always have a piece of her heart and she is very impressed with the lady taking the classes over. She’s actually a wonderful friend too and my Mommy knows all her kiddies are in good hands.

She can now focus on her library at school and on blogging and perhaps just spend more time here with us at home. Now that sounds like a brilliant plan to me. The Big Book teaches us that for everything there is a season and if we live by the changing of the seasons, that’s how we grow we most.

I’m sure the transition time won’t be too long, just bare with us for a couple of weeks. Let’s talk books!

Adding to the Litter

On Tuesday we did this fun Top Ten Tuesday where my Mommy literally ran to the bookshop just to be able to add new books to her collection and to fulfill the TTT prompt. For those of you who might have thought it was a hoax, nope. She really did do that. Our favorite bookshop is having their Summer Sale and with her teacher’s discount included, she got The Bridgerton Set for a steal.

We haven’t spend as much time on BookBub over the last couple of weeks and we’ve noticed that we actually miss out on quite a few brilliant specials. Luckily, this one didn’t pass us by last night.

When psychologist Maddie Gresham is sent a mysterious message telling her to report to Trent Park mansion, she wonders how she will be helping the war effort from a stately home.

She soon finds captured Nazi generals are being detained at the house. Bugged with listening devices in every room, it’s up to Maddie to gain the Nazis’ trust and coax them into giving up information.

When Max Weitzler, a Jewish refugee, also arrives at Trent Park with the same mission, Maddie finds herself trapped in a dangerous game of chess.

The two met in Germany before the war, and Maddie’s heart was his from the moment they locked eyes.

But Maddie has finally gained the trust of the Nazi officers at the house, and her love for Max must remain a secret.

When the walls have ears, who can you trust?

Based on the true events that took place at Trent Park during WWII, this is an emotionally gripping, and heart-breaking novel about love, sacrifice, and betrayal, perfect for fans of The Rose Code and The Lost Girls of Paris.

We still haven’t determined or set up our 2022 Reading Challenge, but we will try to do it in the upcoming week.

Scratching the Blog Pole

Believe it or not, but we did have more than two posts planned for this week. Our Top Ten Tuesday post was really drafted in like 20 minutes and we only managed to open the blog again yesterday and we reviewed a wonderful historical novel. If you’ve missed any of these two, here’s the links:

The Top Ten most Recent Additions to my Collection

Book Review: Love & Retribution by Catherine McCullagh

On the Couch

My Mommy has a new laptop that she is working on at the moment as her desktop is in for repairs. Her much loved laptop for almost 9 years, is now staying at school to run the library system. Seeing that she won’t have schoolwork coming home at night, she decided to just leave the trusted old thing at school so it can update and shutdown and throw tantrums as only 9 year old laptops can do. The new laptop is nothing but a Barbie Doll though. Pretty to look at, but not much hiding behind the plastic. The idea is to only use it for blogging and emails when she’s on the run. The desktop will be The Hulk to carry the bulk.

And now I’ve just typed that whole uninformative paragraph to tell you that we won’t add a pretty graphic under this header today, as our Canva isn’t set-up on Barbie yet.

We are still listening to A Court of Thorns and Roses and 11 hours in, it’s finally really grasping our attention and we really want to know what’s going on there. Also still reading The Dangers of an Ordinary Night, what’s going on there? But it is good yes.

Still nothing new on the television front. What can you recommend?

Tell us about your week! In what season do you find yourself at the moment? Weather or life, doesn’t matter – tell us about it.

Remember to link to our lovely hosts as well!

Debbie @ Readerbuzz with The Sunday Salon, Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer with The Sunday Post and Marlene @ Reading Reality with Stacking the Shelves.

Share the Meows
RSS
Follow by Email
Twitter
Visit Us
Follow Me
Instagram

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

28 responses to “The Sunday Post #59

  1. Yay for more personal time and less work time! It sounds like this is a good move for you.

    ACOTAR is just grabbing your attention after 11 hours? You’re more persistent than I am. I would probably have given up by now. I’ve only read Throne of Glass by her. It was good but it didn’t intrigue me enough to pursue the series.

    Today is cool and rainy. Perfect for blankets, tea, books, and naps.

    Enjoy your week!

    • elzaread

      Work is still crazy at the moment and I just found it the week will be tough as we are short staffed. But it’s the prospect that keeps me going.

      Oh I wanted to give up wit ACOTAR, but the beginning was intriguing enough to keep it playing as background noise. But now I’m interested and want to know what’s happening. I think we might be slightly too old for those type of books….

      We’ve really had some wonderful beachy weather here and I just love it!

      Have a good week Jen.

    • elzaread

      Hi Yvonne! I’ve read the first 4 books in The Bridgerton series and I really am excited to read the rest as well.
      Won’t be any time soon, but that’s okay! Now I have them!

    • elzaread

      Hi there Jessica, I am looking forward to this new season yes. I need to learn to stop and smell the roses a bit more and if I don’t do it myself, it will never happen.

      Barbie is all trained! Easy peasy.

      Thanks for stopping by and have a marvelous week ahead!

  2. Diane

    Hope you love your new work change. Enjoy those new books, so hard to resist a sale – same goes for cat treats LOL Have a great week.

    • elzaread

      The worst part of a sale at my local bookstore, is that they send my personal messages and lure me in with sweet talk and pretty photos as well. Dreadful…

      I think the new change is good and I am looking forward to it for sure.

      Have a good week Diane!

    • elzaread

      Nothing like a bookstore sale to prepare you for teacher/parent meetings! It was an absolute breeze.

      Have a wonderful week!

    • elzaread

      The new computer ends up being a real perfect Barbie girl and we are all very happy! I know not to expect too much, so all good here.

      You guys must also have a great week ahead!

  3. I missed your TT post but probably because I didn’t do one last week. I’m glad your first week back went well though! Lol about your Barbie laptop!

    I recommend Vigil on the TV front, if you haven’t heard of it. I watched it on Peacock here but it was a BBC production I believe?

    Greg recently posted: Song of the Week #118
    • elzaread

      Hi Greg! You haven’t missed much, my TTT was just a quick post with creative freedom! I’ll do better tomorrow.

      Thanks for the recommendation! Nope, don’t know any of those, so I’ll take a look.

      Have a good week!

  4. I’m glad school is going smoothly. We are all happy that you may have a little more time to blog now.

    Almost every day I’ve been checking BookBub and I find something great on sale almost every day. It’s fantastic.

    I need to get a new battery for my computer. I’ve been delayed by the pandemic, but now things are getting dire. Good luck with your new Barbie.

    Deb+Nance+at+Readerbuzz recently posted: The Sunday Salon: I Spend a Week in Cloud Cuckoo Land
    • elzaread

      Hi Debbie, I feel as if I can just breathe a bit lighter at the moment. Still crazy with the Takeo and all, but it’s the prospect that gives me peace.

      I am so useless with computers. If Max isn’t here to help me, it’s nothing but a disaster!

      Have a good week Debbie, I’ll have a WWW ready.

  5. I am glad to hear your first week of school was fun! I grabbed a Bookbub deal as well this week, a different book that you did. I thought I missed it as the price hadn’t come down yet, but then the next day it was discounted after all and I grabbed it. That’s nice one of your audios got better finally, I don’t always have the patience to stick with a book that long, but some books really take some time before they get good. I hope you’ll have a good week!

    • elzaread

      Hi Lola!
      I have hits and misses with BookBub. Some I am so excited to see a book is on sale, but then it’s not available in SA.

      I still haven’t checked out your new tour schedules, just trying to get through the current pile and then I’ll take on new ones.

      Have a wonderful week Lola!